top of page
Search
  • sgrunstein

Beatriz Sereno's Leadbeater's Possum

Updated: Mar 7, 2022

The animal that I made my project about was Leadbeater's possum. His scientific name is Gymnobelideus Leadbeateri and he mainly lives in Australia. It is currently critically endangered on the IUCN Red List (International Union for Conservation of Nature Red List) because of a reduction in habitat suitability mostly due to fire and ongoing timber harvesting.

I chose the Leadbeater's possum because I think it is cute, it is intriguing to look at because of how small it is in real life and it’s incredible how fast they are. Also, another thing that made me want to do this was that one of the reasons why this animal is critically endangered is our fault. By doing this project, I hoped that when people are looking at the animals they would think twice before doing the wrong thing and start trying to save the environment, such as recycling.

While making this project, I found it challenging to find the right portion of the Leadbeater's possum's body. As a result, I had to try sometimes to make the parts of the animal’s body. I also thought it was difficult to find the right color for the possum. The reason is that the animal can have its fur in different colors, between gray and brown. In general, I liked to do this project because of its challenges and how I always found a way to overcome them. In addition, I liked to discover more things about the Leadbeater's possum and how unique they are.


bottom of page