top of page
Search
  • sgrunstein

Saniya Place's Tucuman Amazon

Updated: Mar 14, 2022

My animal pot is a Tucuman Amazon from Northern Argentina. Their preferred habitat is forested areas between 3,400 and 7,300 feet but they can potentially migrate to lower altitudes in autumn and winter.

These species' status is Vulnerable and endangered since their habitat got destroyed and many were captured for the pet trade. I chose the Tucuman Amazon for my project because the animal interested me because of their color pattern. A way people can help the species is by donating to an organization/program such as Tucuman Parrot Program. The part I enjoyed the most when creating this project was playing around with the clay and trying my best to form the bird to the way it looked. The most challenging part of this project was painting the feathers onto the pot. I loved the way it turned out in the end but I still found it challenging. I overcame this by having patience and taking my time.


bottom of page