top of page
Search
  • sgrunstein

Aisha Hussein's Malayan Tiger

Updated: Mar 7, 2022


My animal pot is of the Malayan Tiger from the Peninsula of Malaysia and the southern tip of Thailand. Malayan Tigers are endangered due to being poached for their skin, bones, meat, and tonics in illegal trade. I chose to make this animal for my project because I have always loved tigers for their unique stripes and bold eyes. The Malayan Tiger has special markings on its nose and forehead. I resonate with tigers because they are strong, beautiful, and unique. During this project, I loved making the pinch pots that are the main structure of the body because they were so much fun to make. I made two pinch pots and then put them together and made a hole in the top. The most challenging part of working with the clay was making the front and back legs. Frustration was something that came along with it, as I tried to perfect the form of the legs. I eventually got it, though, and the legs turned out amazing. To help save the Malayan Tiger, I think it is necessary to spread the word and stop poaching. Due to the immense amount of killing going on in their natural habitat, Malayan Tigers have been disappearing, which could be fatal because they need to be in their natural habitat to thrive. Let’s take care of our planet and its inhabitants, no matter how big or small!!!!


bottom of page