top of page
Search
  • sgrunstein

Aidan Miller's Sumatran Orangutan

Updated: Mar 8, 2022

My pot is a Sumatran orangutan which is one of the great apes that is critically endangered. This amazing animal is losing its homes in the Indonesian rainforest to habitat destruction caused by deforestation, dropping its population to below fourteen thousand.

This amazing creature is one of the most intelligent in the world, being our cousins in the evolutionary tree. I picked this amazing animal because it is so intelligent and fascinating to observe in relation to the behaviors of people. They have unique colors and are so cool and funny to me, they remind me of a wise, slower uncle in the primate family. Their unique faces and body language made them an interesting piece to turn into a pot, and not only that but planting something in it is representative of how to help the species. Stopping deforestation is a daunting task but to help you can donate to wildlife centers that aid the species or even literally adopt a baby orangutan displaced by its environment being destroyed. My most challenging obstacle in making this project was the under glazing where I was unable to get the colors just right and failed to cover every space. Even so, I loved picking an animal I care about to make into a creative art piece that I can house life in.




bottom of page